Department of Pathology


The Division of Cytogenetics consists of Dr. Cecelia Miller (director) and Dr. Matthew R. Avenarius. The laboratory focuses on cancer cytogenetics. It performs both classical conventional karyotypic analyses on banded metaphase chromosomes, and fluorescence in situ hybridization (FISH) assays on interphase nuclei and metaphase chromosomes using DNA probes. In patients with acute leukemias, FISH assays can be performed rapidly to provide same or next-day results.