Department of Pathology


The Division of Neuropathology is responsible for examining all neuropathological specimens (surgical neuro-oncology, ophthalmic pathology, and neuro-autopsy) from the OSU Medical Center and James Cancer Center. The surgical cases include specimens from the eye and orbit in addition to general neurosurgical specimens. The division leads and/or participates in several working conferences including the weekly multidisciplinary Neuro-Oncology Tumor Board, the quarterly cognitive neurology/neuropathology clinical-pathological correlation conference, and brain cutting. The division is composed of Dr. Jose Otero (Director), Dr. Peter Kobalka, Dr. Diana Thomas, and Dr. Lynn Shoenfield. Additional courtesy members include Dr. Aline Becker who leads the translational neuropathology research in OSU’s Radiation Oncology. Neuropathology also has a significant basic science research initiatives lead by Dr. Jose Otero and Dr. Catherine Czeisler.